Graduation.

I don’t think that I will ever be able to forget my high school graduation. Eaton High School, a very small town school, where we all grew up together, the people I will never forget. I worked my whole life for the moment. I anticipated that day since I knew what graduation was. I woke up that morning full of hope, yet an indescribable sadness. While the larger part of me knew that it was time to achieve my dreams, a small, rather quiet part of me was not yet ready to give up my life; the only life I had ever known. As I dressed in my new white, lace dress and white sandals, pictures were taken with the family. One of the pieces I remember the most was putting on that white robe. The last outfit I would be in for my former life, it was time to grow up now. As I slung my gold National Honor Society robes around the collar, I made my way for the football field. That day will forever be a part of me. As I met up with my fellow friends and class mates in the back, it all seemed bittersweet.  As we lined up, it seemed like the average day for some part. We messed around, poking jokes at each other, and laughing like always, yet none of us could truly seem to face the reality of the situation. This was the last time, ever, that we would all be together like this. As we all made our grand entrance across the field and holding my lovely rose, I couldn’t stop the ever present smile.

I smiled through that entire ceremony. As I took my seat in the very front row, the guys made jokes, we all cried as our friends gave speeches, and our families screamed when our names were called as we finally received our diplomas. It all seems like a dream, the crowd, my friends, my family, and the massive amount of time spent on the field in a humongous hug fest. It seemed that none of us really wanted to leave the field, because when we did, it all became real. I will never forget what happened the night after graduation though. As we said our goodbyes and many trailed off to parties, my very best friends and I met up. One of my friends was moving away and we wanted one last who-rah, for the house, for the town, and mostly for each other. Things would never be the same, we all knew that. So, together we gathered, that warm spring night. As we sat around the burning fire we reminisced on the past, as we laughed until we cried. Though the grass was warm and the friendship warmer, it was time to take our leave. With too longing hugs we parted ways, saying lofty goodbyes. I will never forget that beautiful day, those outstanding people, or that warm spring night.

Leave a Reply

