An old poem.

My rearview mirror fills,

With a skyline I once knew,

Though I know the skyline remains the same,

What’s different can’t be viewed.

The memories fill my mind,

As I take a look around,

Of the trees that changed from green to gold and all the buildings that don’t make a sound,

A smile creeps upon my face,

As I think of our time in this place,

Our laughter that once filled the streets,

When time came easy and love came free,

With every brick I step upon,

Your memories fill my mind,

Of a time that was so magical it forever changed my life.

So when you’re down and lonely,

Or you happen to stumble across downtown,

Remember though surrounding change,

What we have remains all the same,

A time when the future was only tomorrow,

The past just yesterday,

A time when we came together and simply enjoyed one another,

The skyline slips out of view,

As I drive away,

But the happiness we once shared and a smile still remains.

 

 

Leave a Reply

